Compare

GPS trackers for kids: the UK options compared

What each kind of device does, what it costs, and which suits which family. Every price links to the maker's own site.

In a nutshell

  • A GPS device for a child does two jobs. It works out where it is, and it sends that to your phone over a mobile network. The second job is why most of them need a monthly plan.
  • There are four kinds: screen-free devices, smartwatches, basic phones and Bluetooth tags. The biggest difference between them is what your child can do when they need you.
  • Over two years, screen-free devices cost roughly £120 to £250, smartwatches roughly £310 to £460, and tags under £30.
  • Tags are cheap, but they were built for keys and bags. Apple says AirTag is designed for objects, not people.
  • Check your school's policy before you buy anything with a SIM in it.
A purple Yado device clipped to a wet drawstring kit bag beside muddy football boots on a floodlit pitch at dusk.

Who wrote this

We make Yado, one of the devices in the tables below. We have tried to write the page we would want to read as parents. Every price and feature links to the maker's own page. If you make one of these products and we have something wrong, tell us and we will correct it and log the change at the foot of this page.

How GPS trackers work

Most devices combine three methods.

GPS listens to satellites. GPS.gov says a smartphone is typically accurate to within 4.9 metres under open sky, and that accuracy worsens near buildings, bridges and trees, and indoors.

Wi-Fi compares the networks nearby against a database of where those networks are. It works best in towns and cities, where GPS struggles, and poorly in the countryside, where there are fewer networks to match.

Mobile masts give a rough position from the mast the device is connected to. A report published by Ofcom puts mast coverage at between 200 metres and 1 kilometre in dense urban areas, and up to 35 to 100 kilometres in remote rural areas. It is the fallback when nothing better is available.

So a device inside a building can report a position that is hundreds of metres out. When a maker quotes an accuracy figure, it almost always means GPS under open sky.

The four kinds

A screen-free device is a small unit that clips to a bag or belt loop, with a button or two and no screen. These differ most in what the child can do. Some place a live call, some send voice notes, and some only send an SOS alert. The cheapest plan often leaves something out, such as calling or alerts when your child arrives somewhere, so compare the plan as well as the device.

Will the school allow it?

Schools in England now follow statutory Department for Education guidance on mobile phones, and each headteacher decides how it applies to other devices. Our schools pages set out what the guidance says and whether a safety device counts as a phone. Before you buy, our guide to talking to your school covers what to ask.

Yado has no screen, no camera and no messaging. With school hours set, it neither rings nor alerts during the day, and the device enforces that, so a child cannot switch it back on. That gives a school grounds to let a child keep it in their bag all day, instead of handing it in each morning and collecting it at home time. The decision is still the school's.

Find the right device

Set a budget and tick what matters. The picker uses only what each maker publishes, which is what the tables below show. It suggests the device with the most features in those tables, and the cheaper one where two tie.

Your budget
What your child can do
What you can see and manage
Tick at least one thing that matters to you.

What GPS trackers cost in the UK

Prices are the makers' regular prices, without sales or launch offers, checked on 28 September 2026. The plan shown is the cheapest each maker publishes. We include products that are out of stock, on pre-order or taking waitlist sign-ups, so you can see the whole market. Sort the table by device cost, kind or status. Every product links to the maker's own page.

ProductCheapest plan
YadoScreen-freeWaitlist£80from £6.99 a month
Screen-free devices
UBEE Junior 4GScreen-freeOn sale£44.99Data, £78 for 24 months1
PAJ EASY Finder 4GScreen-freeOn sale£49.99Basic, £108 for 2 years
KARRI Messenger 2Screen-freeOn sale£89.99Basic, £35.88 a year
Trackers365 Kids GPS TrackerScreen-freeOut of stock£139.99None needed
Weenect KidsScreen-freeOut of stock£49.99£110 for 2 years
OrrlaScreen-freeWaitlist£49.99£4.99 a month
FindiFox Spark OneScreen-freeWaitlist£54.95Lite, £4.95 a month2
My Little BeaconScreen-freeWaitlistNot publishedNot published
Kids' smartwatches
Spacetalk LoopSmartwatchOn sale£129Yearly, £89.88
Xplora XGO3SmartwatchOn sale£139£7.99 a month, 12-month contract3
Xplora X6PlaySmartwatchOn sale£179£7.99 a month, 12-month contract3
Garmin Bounce 2SmartwatchOn sale£259.99Annual, £99.99
imoo Z1SmartwatchOn sale£109No plan sold4
Phones
HMD 2660 Flip with giffgaffBasic phoneOn sale£79.99£6 a month, rolling
XploraOnePhoneOn sale£149£9.99 a month, 24-month contract
NODI FlipPhonePre-orderNot published in £5Your own SIM, or NODI's plan
Bluetooth tags
Tile MateTagOn sale£24.99None needed
Apple AirTagTagOn sale£29None needed
  1. UBEE's Data plans do not include calls. Its cheapest calling plan is Voice, at £119.76 for 24 months.
  2. FindiFox does not publish how long its plans run.
  3. Xplora does not publish the price after the 12-month contract ends.
  4. imoo sells no SIM or plan. The watch needs a SIM that supports VoLTE, which you buy separately.
  5. NODI's UK page shows prices in euros.

Vodafone no longer sells the Vodafone Neo.

What each one lets your child do

ProductYour child canRaise an SOS alertCall escalationScreenCameraQuiet in school hoursIntelligent network switching
YadoCall you, up to 6 contacts (2 on the entry plan)YesYesNoNoYesYes
Screen-free devices
UBEE Junior 4GSend an SOS alert. Calls need a Voice planYesNot statedNoNoNot statedYes
PAJ EASY Finder 4GSend voice notes and an SOS alarmYesNoNoNoNot statedNot stated
KARRI Messenger 2Send voice notesPages disagree on BasicNoNoNoNot statedYes
Trackers365 Kids GPS TrackerNothingNot statedNot statedNoNoNot neededYes
Weenect KidsSend an SOS alert. You can call itYesNoNoNoNot statedYes
OrrlaSend an SOS alertYesNoNoNoNot statedYes
FindiFox Spark OneSend an SOS alertYesNoNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
My Little BeaconCall youNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Kids' smartwatches
Spacetalk LoopCall youYesYesYesYesYesNo
Xplora XGO3Call youYesYesYesYesYesNo
Xplora X6PlayCall youYesYesYesYesYesNo
Garmin Bounce 2Call youYesNot statedYesNoYesNot stated
imoo Z1Call or video call youNot statedNot statedYesYesYesDepends on your SIM
Phones
HMD 2660 FlipCall youNot statedNot statedYesYesNot statedDepends on your SIM
XploraOneCall youYesNot statedYesYesYesNo
NODI FlipSend voice notesNot statedNoSmall status displayNot statedNot statedNot stated
Bluetooth tags
Tile MateNothingNoNoNoNoNot neededNo SIM
Apple AirTagNothingNoNoNoNoNot neededNo SIM

What you can see and manage

ProductYou see where it isAlerts when they arrive or leaveLocation historyDaily and weekly schedulesMultiple children in a single appShared parenting and households
YadoYesYesYesYesYesYes
Screen-free devices
UBEE Junior 4GYesYes3 monthsNot statedNot statedYes
PAJ EASY Finder 4GYesYes3 days, 365 on PremiumNot statedYesYes
KARRI Messenger 2Yes. Live GPS listed as "Coming soon"From PremiumNot statedNot statedYesFrom Premium
Trackers365 Kids GPS TrackerYesYesYesNot statedYesYes
Weenect KidsYesYes30 daysNot statedYesYes
OrrlaYesNot statedNot statedNot statedYesNot stated
FindiFox Spark OneYesNot statedNot statedNot statedYesYes
My Little BeaconYesNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Kids' smartwatches
Spacetalk LoopYesYesYesYesYesYes
Xplora XGO3YesYes3 daysNoYesUp to 2 adults
Xplora X6PlayYesYes3 daysNoYesUp to 2 adults
Garmin Bounce 2YesYes7 daysYesYesYes
imoo Z1GPS listedNot statedNot statedNoNot statedYes
Phones
HMD 2660 FlipNoNoNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
XploraOneYesYes3 daysNoYesUp to 2 adults
NODI FlipNot built inNoNoNoYesYes
Bluetooth tags
Tile MateLast seen near a phoneNoNot statedNot statedYesNot stated
Apple AirTagLast seen near an Apple deviceNoNoNot statedYesUp to 5 people

Which GPS tracker should you buy?

Start with what your child needs to do when they need you.

If you want your child to be able to call you, and you want to know when they arrive, without giving them a screen, choose Yado. The UBEE Junior 4G on a Voice plan also gives a live call with no screen. UBEE's own pages do not mention calling down a list, daily and weekly schedules, quiet in school hours or more than one child in one app, and Yado has all four.

A smartwatch does the most, if a screen is fine. For a call at the lowest cost, a basic phone with a £6 SIM is cheapest. KARRI suits a child who mainly wants to message friends, since it sends voice notes to other KARRIs. To find a bag, a tag is enough.

Not sure your child is ready for any of this? Our five-question check points to one of three answers, and one of them is a phone.

Where Yado fits

A cream Yado device with an orange clip, a pattern of coloured arches and one round button.

Yado is a screen-free device. One button calls the people you choose, one after another, until someone answers. You get a message when your child arrives at or leaves the places you set. Only numbers you add can call it. It has no screen, camera, apps or games.

The device is £80, with plans from £6.99 a month. Yado can call up to 6 contacts. The £6.99 plan includes 2 of them, plus arrival and departure alerts. Details of other plans to follow. Over two years that is from £247.76. Yado runs on 4G and LTE, and is taking waitlist sign-ups now.

That puts it above the screen-free devices that send voice notes or alerts and below the smartwatches, so it is not the cheapest way to keep in touch. For that price you get a live call down a list of people, from a device with no screen.

Yado isn't on sale yet.

Spring 2027, and the first batch is small. The waitlist gets it first.

Unsubscribe any time.

Changes to this page
  • September 2026. Page published. Prices checked 28 September 2026.